What’s in a Name ?

cool-names-5I read the topic for some time. What does your name mean to me? Do you like it or hate it? Why?

 I thought about the first question – What does your name mean to me?

 My full name has three parts – first name, middle name and the last name.

My parent decided on the first name to reflect my ‘rashi’ (birth sign) as depicted by my birth chart. The last reflected my hereditary significance, as it was carried from generation to generation from my father’s side. The middle name, I don’t know why it was added, and as my father said it just sounded better.

 It means nothing to me except a source of identification. It is no different than branding myself. The attractiveness of the name depends on the creativity or brand knowledge of my parents and also on the pundit who came to prepare my birth chart.

 By now I am convinced that my rashi has nothing to do with how my life is now or will be. In fact, it never played a role. During the initial days of my life I was too eager and impatient enough to go through all sun signs predictions based on my rashi or name. Of course it all turned out to be a myth, they are just nothing. Life never runs of such things.

 Thus, for me, a name is just a name used for identification purpose. It means nothing more than that. It does not make me who I am, it does not turn my luck around. We don’t fall in love with a name, we fall in love with a person.

 I thought about the second question – Do you like it or hate it? Why ?

 Now this turned out to be a serious question. I thought how many times do I pronounce my own name? Hardly. I do? I only hear my name when other announce it. And yes, it sounds better, as I realize someone has recognized me, my presence. It sounds better when it is announced by some and not so sweet by others. I started liking it since my childhood, when my parents calling me by that name, and in fact that was the first word I recognized.

 Well, like it or hate it? Doesn’t matter. Why should I even bother? Some people have complex names, some have easier name, as far as pronouncing them is concerned. But, who cares? We just don’t go on changing our names, just because some people can’t pronounce it. We just carry on.

 If I hate my name, I am blaming my parents for their lack of creativity. If I like it, then I am appreciating their creativity. If I am neutral, I am accepting whatever they have given to me.

 My parent created me; I can give them the right to name me at least. So, I neither hate it nor love it, I just accept it as my name, which is Pradeep Kumar Deka.

11 thoughts on “What’s in a Name ?

  1. Having read this I thought it was really informative. I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this information together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

    Like

  2. Allow me to humor you for a moment. Let me take a stab at connecting your “rashi” to the dictates of the sun or whatnot. Before re-reading your birthsign, note that disorders of the mind must be taken out of the equation. I’m not implying that I believe this jibber but it’s an interesting time waster. Try to Google: [Your Birthsign] + 3rd decan (or decanter). Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

