the darkness

20110909220403_33the darkness was engulfing me slowly. It was getting dark, all getting black around me. I was slowly loosing sight. I could barely see an inch further. I stretched my eyes. I saw her shadow. Yes, she is there for me. I wanted to run towards her and touch her. I saw she raising her hand towards me, I wanted to hold her hand. I tried running. What !!! I can’t move. My legs didn’t move. Something was pulling me back, I could not move. I stretched my hand further.

No, I can’t move. I was loosing her sight, I could see her hand only now. I again tried more, Stretched myself more. No, I can’t move now, I raised my hand, I wanted to hold her hand. I wanted to see her for the last time. I felt the pain in my heart. Just once, only once, I wanted to see her once. Nothing changed. And that was the last thought I had before it was all dark. The thought died within me. I know I can’t see her now, no matter how hard I try. I wish I could….

And then, it’s all darkness. It was a strange feeling to stay in all darkness. I am not sure whether I actually hate this darkness, but I do get scared. I was scared that this darkness will now be all over my mind. All I will think now will be dark. It will be the dark side of me. After a very long time, I was alone, all alone with me and this darkness. There was no need for me to close my eyes and pretend that I am alone. I was always alone even when I was with all people around, but this was different. This was a reality now. I was alone even with my eyes wide open. I don’t even know whether anyone was there or not, and I will never know whether anyone waited for me or not, will never know whether anyone cared for me or not, will never know that my existence made any difference for anyone. I think I smiled. Strange, but I did smiled.

Thousands of pictures snapped around my eyes like a slide show. All known acquaintances, some made me smile, some made be frown, some angry, some sad and many more feelings. But I didn’t stopped for anyone, they are all the same, may be just had different features, and of course, different names. It hardly mattered, but then her picture came. I paused. Is she also the same? The question resonated again…

One thought on “the darkness

  1. I believe this is Isolation….and it your choice.You choose the path of darkness and isolation …can any person really say that…”I don’t even know whether anyone was there or not, and I will never know whether anyone waited for me or not, will never know whether anyone cared for me or not, will never know that my existence made any difference for anyone.”
    ….think over …..”All known acquaintances”….they make a difference in your life …Good or bad…
    no one is the same…..they are all different and special in their own ways……..
    so …why choose darkness when there is light around?

    Like

Leave a Reply

