the soul

She took my hand into her hand and hugged me softly.  I closed my eyes, I felt her fingers moving in my hairs and caring me. It felt so good. Why all my worries go away when she does this ?

“You are again thinking too much” she said softly. It felt like a dream. Her voice was like a whisper.

“Your mind needs to settle down. Make him take rest” she kept her fingers caring my head and said softly “The body and mind are two different things. If you move to your bodily desires or need, you are never going to get peace. You will be in confusions.”

“What do you mean?” I said without opening my eyes. How can she even think that I am confused. I have achieved a higher form of life, and mere bodily desires can’t make be confused. But I wanted to probe further, “Ok, give me an example”.

“Okay”, I think she smiled, “when you touch water in winter and when you touch water in summer, is there a difference”

“of course, I feel the difference, my hand reacts in winter, but in summer I feel good”.

“But water is always the same” came her prompt reply, “Thats what, have you ever realised that may be it is all because of our perceptions. It is just our body reacting to something.”

I grinned “Isn’t that adding more confusions?” I looked at her. There was a calmness in her face. She was looking at some way far. Her eyes in deep thought. Is she talking about this calmness. Then she looked at me and smiled. So pure and calm. I again closed my eyes. I didnt wanted to lose this image of her.

She said “If our mind thinks that its the same water and does not allow the body to react, then probably we will not know the changes. The point here is can be allow our lives ups and downs, day-to-day chores, happiness or sadness to touch our mind, the very inner core of our existence, the soul”

I felt silent, I had nothing to say. Too many thoughts started revolving around me minds. “What is this” May be I thought loud. “I was thinking about soulmates, and now she is asking me about the real meaning of SOUL”.

I kept my eyes closed. Everything around me was getting silent. I felt myself driftly into a unknown darkness. Far away I seeing a bright light….

Leave a Reply

